The borough of Gedling is one of the seven districts which make up the county of Nottinghamshire, along with the city of Nottingham sitting in the middle of the county. The borough was created 1974 and consists of 18 settlements, which are Arnold, Bestwood, Burton Joyce, Calverton, Carlton, Colwick, Daybrook, Gedling, Lambley, Linby, Netherfield, Newstead, Papplewick, Ravenshead, Stoke Bardolph, Woodborough and Woodthorpe.

For more additional information check out the Nottinghamshire History Website